Elín Hansdóttir: Long Place | DISTANZ

DISTANZ

Elín Hansdóttir

Long Place

  • Editor
    Anne Kockelkorn
  • Language
    English/German
  • Format
    18 × 22 cm
  • Features
    88 pages, 47 color images, Softcover
  • ISBN
    978-3-95476-388-7
  • Release
    April 2021
  • Price
    €28.00

Labyrinths and Blank Screens of the Mind


Elín Hansdóttir’s (b. Reykjavík, Iceland, 1980; lives and works between Reykjavík and Berlin) oeuvre extends from installation and sculpture into photography. The particulars of an exhibition site anchor her creative process and supply her with inspiration, which she translates into site-specific and immersive installations involving acoustic and optical illusions; architectural elements prompt the viewers to explore labyrinthine settings and sharpen their sense of their own physical presence and movement. Hansdóttir’s work has been featured in solo exhibitions at the Reykjavík Art Museum and the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin.

The publication looks back to the project untitled, produced for the 2005 Reykjavík Arts Festival in collaboration with Anne Kockelkorn, Darri Lorenzen and the design duo Neulant van Exel. With her team, Hansdóttir built a 500-foot tunnel-like construction inside Edinborg House, an edifice from the 1890s in Ísafjörður. A passageway of disillusionment zigzagging through a completely white interior awash in monochrome lighting guided the visitors in changing directions: to the right, left, right, up, down, left, right, and, finally, back out. This visual spatial experience was expanded by a sonic pattern that was based on sound-recordings from within the tunnel and emmited via surround sound systems. Sensory deprivation and the disorientation induced by the meandering trajectory made the installation a screen onto which the visitors projected their own thoughts.

Long Place presents the first comprehensive documentation of the installation. The architectural historian Anne Kockelkorn and the literature scholar and philosopher Björn Quiring contributed essays on Hansdóttir’s sensitive art.

More books
    Add to Cart
    Back to Overview
    Back to Overview

Elín Hansdóttir: Long Place | DISTANZ

DISTANZ

Elín Hansdóttir

Long Place

  • Editor
    Anne Kockelkorn
  • Sprache
    Englisch/Deutsch
  • Format
    18 × 22 cm
  • Eigenschaften
    88 Seiten, 47 Farbabbildungen, Softcover
  • ISBN
    978-3-95476-388-7
  • Veröffentlichung
    April 2021
  • Preis
    28,00 €

Labyrinthe und Projektionsflächen der Gedanken


Die Arbeiten von Elín Hansdóttir (1980 geb. in Reykjavík, Island, lebt und arbeitet in Reykjavík und Berlin) reichen von Installationen und Skulpturen bis in die Fotografie hinein. Ansatzpunkt und Inspiration findet Hansdóttir am Ausstellungsort selbst. Für diesen schafft sie ortsspezifische und immersive Installationen mit auditiven und optischen Täuschungen und vereint architektonische Elemente mit labyrinthischem und bewegungsaktivierendem Charakter für die Betrachter*innen. Ihre Arbeiten waren in Einzelausstellungen im Reykjavík Art Museum und im KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin zu sehen.

Ausgangspunkt für diese Publikation bildet das Projekt ohne Titel aus dem Jahr 2005, welches im Rahmen des Reykjavík Arts Festivals in Zusammenarbeit mit Anne Kockelkorn, Darri Lorenzen und der Designagentur Neulant van Exel entstand. Im Edinborg House, einem Bauwerk aus den 1890er Jahren in Ísafjörður, errichtete Hansdóttir mit ihrem Team einen 150 Meter langen Innentunnel. Ein desillusionierender Zickzack-Gang mit monochromer Beleuchtung in einem komplett weiß gehaltenen Setting führte die Betrachter*innen in verschiedene Richtungen: nach rechts, links, rechts, oben, unten, links, rechts und schließlich wieder nach draußen. Ergänzt wurde diese visuelle Raumerfahrung durch ein akustisches Klangbild, das auf Soundaufnahmen im Inneren des Ganges basierte und über dort Surround-Systeme verbreitet wurde. Wahrnehmungsverlust und Desorientierung durch das Mäandern im Raum machten die Installation zu einer Projektionsfläche für die eigenen Gedanken.

Long Place ist die erste umfassende Dokumentation der Installation. Die Texte zu Hansdóttirs feinfühliger Kunst schrieben die Architekturhistorikerin Anne Kockelkorn sowie der Literaturwissenschaftler und Philosoph Björn Quiring.

Weitere Bücher
    In den Warenkorb
    Zurück zur Übersicht
    Zurück zur Übersicht