Joachim Baldauf: Photographs + The Wallpaper* Years | DISTANZ

DISTANZ

Joachim Baldauf

Photographs + The Wallpaper* Years

  • Language
    German/English
  • Format
    24.5 × 30.5 cm
  • Features
    384 pages, approx. 300 color images, Flexcover
  • ISBN
    978-3-95476-009-1
  • Release
    March 2013
  • Price
    €25.00

These Pictures Tell All


The German photographer Joachim Baldauf (b. in the Allgäu, 1965; lives in Berlin, works internationally) creates pictures of captivating clarity and subtle irony. They are more than just photographs or fashion shots, more than just youth culture or lifestyle. Due to Baldauf’s very personal approach, his pictures always present the human subject as an individual. Baldauf is the unchallenged number one among Germany’s fashion and portrait photographers and an influential leader in matters of style; his work has appeared in all renowned magazines.

After studying textile design with a focus on photography and fashion illustration, Baldauf worked as a freelance art director for several years before devoting himself to photography full-time. He now also publishes the magazine Vorn and teaches. He has received numerous awards, including “Cover of the Year,” the “Lead Award,” the “Art Directors Club Award,” and the “Distinctive Merit Award.”

This book is the first monograph on Joachim Baldauf’s work. The artist presents his best photographs and a selection of works for the London-based magazine Wallpaper*, whose look he helped define between 1999 and 2002.

Includes a conversation between Tyler Brûlé, the founder and former editorial director of Wallpaper* and present editor-in-chief of Monocle, and Ariel Childs, the former photo editor at Wallpaper*, an essay by Tillmann Prüfer, an editor at Die Zeit and the style director at Zeit Magazin, and a preface by Uta Grosenick, publisher, Distanz Verlag.
More books
    Add to Cart
    Back to Overview
    Back to Overview

Ausverkauft
Joachim Baldauf
Photographs + The Wallpaper* Years
  • Sprache
    Deutsch/Englisch
  • Format
    24,5 × 30,5 cm
  • Eigenschaften
    384 Seiten, ungefähr 300 Farbabbildungen, Flexcover
  • ISBN
    978-3-95476-009-1
  • Veröffentlichung
    März 2013
  • Preis
    25,00 €
Diese Bilder erzählen alles

Die Arbeiten des deutschen Fotografen Joachim Baldauf (geb. 1965 im Allgäu, lebt in Berlin, arbeitet international) bestechen durch ihre Klarheit und eine gewisse Ironie. Sie sind mehr als nur Fotografien, mehr als nur Modeaufnahmen, mehr als nur Jugendkultur und mehr als nur Lifestyle. Die Bilder stellen den Menschen – aufgrund Baldaufs sehr persönlicher Herangehensweise – immer als Individuum dar. Baldauf ist unumstritten die Nummer 1 der deutschen Mode- und Porträtfotografen und hat auf sie großen stilbildenden Einfluss, seine Fotos wurden in allen namhaften Magazinen veröffentlicht.

Baldauf arbeitete nach einem Textildesign-Studium mit den Schwerpunkten Fotografie und Modezeichnen zunächst einige Jahre als freier Art Director, bevor er sich ganz für die Fotografie entschied. Heute ist er außerdem Herausgeber der Zeitschrift Vorn und als Dozent tätig. Ihm wurden zahlreiche Preise, darunter „Cover of the Year“, der „Lead Award“, der „Art Directors Club Award“ und der „Distinctive Merit Award“ verliehen.

Das vorliegende Buch ist die erste Monografie von Joachim Baldauf. In ihr zeigt er seine besten Fotografien und eine Auswahl seiner Arbeiten für das Londoner Magazin Wallpaper*, das er in den Jahren von 1999 bis 2002 visuell stark geprägt hat.

Mit einem Gespräch zwischen Tyler Brûlé, Gründer und ehemaliger Chefredakteur von Wallpaper* und jetziger Herausgeber von Monocle, und Ariel Childs, damalige Bildredakteurin von Wallpaper*, einem Text von Tillmann Prüfer, Redakteur der Zeit und Style Director des Zeit Magazin, und einem Vorwort von Uta Grosenick, Verlegerin, Distanz Verlag.

In den Warenkorb
Zurück zur Übersicht