Kunsthalle Mainz: Between Us | DISTANZ

DISTANZ

Kunsthalle Mainz

Between Us

  • Ausverkauft
  • Editor
    Stefanie Böttcher / Kunsthalle Mainz, Honne Dohrmann / Staatstheater Mainz, Florian Jenett / Hochschule Mainz
  • Format
    20 × 26 cm
  • Features
    128 pages, 33 color images and 18 b/w images, Hardcover
  • ISBN
    978-3-95476-292-7
  • Release
    June 2019
  • Price
    €29.90

Knowledge Formations in Contemporary Dance


Between Us is an interdisciplinary project that brings together three institutions—Staatstheater Mainz, Kunsthalle Mainz, and the Mainz University of Applied Sciences—and disciplines they represent—dance, visual art, and digital dance research and education—with a focus on questions of the exchange of information and knowledge.

Produced by the research project of the same title, this publication provides insight into the genesis of the choreography Effect by the Finnish choreographer Taneli Törmä and documents the rehearsal process. The dance performance and its transformation into graphically visualized data streams using digital recording technology by Motion Bank, a research program at the Mainz University of Applied Sciences, subsequently inspired six international visual artists to translate dance into their respective creative disciplines: taking their cue from the source material, Tim Etchells, Tamara Grcic, Žilvinas Kempinas, Søren Lyngsø Knudsen, Isabel Lewis, and Sissel Tolaas created new works that were gathered for a multimedia exhibition at Kunsthalle Mainz.

Which concepts can be fruitfully transferred from one discipline to another? How can choreographic structures and their digitization impact visual art? Which resources, which language are required to make such transfers possible? The publication Between Us documents and extends the manifold translative contributions of everyone involved in the project. In seven interviews, the artists and researchers talk about their collaboration and shed light on the genesis of their creative work and scholarship. With a preface by Stefanie Böttcher, Honne Dohrmann, and Florian Jenett.

More books
    Add to Cart
    Back to Overview
    Back to Overview

Kunsthalle Mainz: Between Us | DISTANZ

DISTANZ

Kunsthalle Mainz

Between Us

  • Ausverkauft
  • Editor
    Stefanie Böttcher / Kunsthalle Mainz, Honne Dohrmann / Staatstheater Mainz, Florian Jenett / Hochschule Mainz
  • Format
    20 × 26 cm
  • Eigenschaften
    128 Seiten, 33 Farb- und 18 s/w-Abbildungen, Hardcover
  • ISBN
    978-3-95476-292-7
  • Veröffentlichung
    Juni 2019
  • Preis
    29,90 €

Wissensformationen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes


Between Us ist ein interdisziplinäres Projekt, das drei Institutionen – Staatstheater Mainz, Kunsthalle Mainz, Hochschule Mainz – und damit die Disziplinen Tanz, bildende Kunst, digitale Tanzforschung und -vermittlung über Fragestellungen des Austauschs von Informationen und Wissen zusammenbringt. 

Die Publikation zum gleichnamigen Forschungsprojekt gibt Einblicke in den Entstehungsprozess der Choreografie Effect des finnischen Choreografen Taneli Törmä und dokumentiert Proben. Das Tanzstück und dessen Umwandlung in grafisch visualisierte Datenströme per digitalem Aufnahmeverfahren durch Motion Bank, ein Forschungsprogramm der Hochschule Mainz, nahmen wiederum sechs internationale Künstler*innen zum Anstoß, Tanz in die jeweils eigene künstlerische Disziplin zu übersetzen: Tim Etchells, Tamara Grcic, Žilvinas Kempinas, Søren Lyngsø Knudsen, Isabel Lewis und Sissel Tolaas schufen von dem Quellmaterial inspiriert neue Werke, die in einen multimedialen Ausstellungsparcours in der Kunsthalle Mainz mündeten. 

Welche Konzepte lassen sich von einer in die andere Disziplin übertragen? Wie können choreografische Strukturen und deren Digitalisierung Einfluss auf die bildende Kunst nehmen? Welcher Mittel, welcher Sprache bedarf es, um diese Übertragung zu ermöglichen? Die Publikation Between Us dokumentiert und erweitert die vielfältigen Übersetzungsleistungen aller Projektpartner*innen. In sieben Interviews kommen die Künstler*innen und Forschenden zu Wort und geben Einblick in die Zusammenarbeit und Genese der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Mit einem Vorwort von Stefanie Böttcher, Honne Dohrmann und Florian Jenett.

Weitere Bücher
    In den Warenkorb
    Zurück zur Übersicht
    Zurück zur Übersicht